Isabel Lewis (DE/US)

BIOGRAPHY

Isabel Lewis (born in Santo Domingo, 1981) is a Dominican-American artist raised on a man-made island in Southwest Florida. Before relocating to Berlin in 2009 she lived in New York City where she danced for many choreographers and showed her own commissioned works for the stage at Dance Theater Workshop, PS122, and The Kitchen. She also participated in several artist-run initiatives in NYC such as AUNTS, ClassClassClass, Bruce High Quality Foundation, and Movement Research at Judson Church.

Lewis is active in the fields of theatre, music, and dance and is particularly recognised for introducing the format of the “occasion” to the field of Contemporary Art with her presentations of An Occasion hosted by Isabel Lewis at the Biennial of Moving Images at Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève followed by Frieze Art Fair London in 2014. Through persistent experimentation and embodied research methodologies Lewis creates formats for alternative modes of sociality between human and more-than-human agents. For Lewis any given format suggests ways of ordering the sensible and so how to engage with format is a deeply political question. “Occurrences”, “arrangements”, “activations” “expanded viewings”, “sensory parcours” as well as workshops, listening sessions and lecture performances are to be found in the history of the artist’s work. Trained in literary criticism and philosophy and with her artistic roots in dance, Lewis employs an expanded sense of the choreographic that centres its focus around generating affective bodily experiences that address all of the senses in her inherently collaborative practice which includes architects such as Juan Chacón of Zuloark, scientists such as Sissel Tolaas, and theorists such as classicist Brooke Holmes among other practitioners.

Lewis has created works around such topics such as open-source technology and dance improvisation (Communal EPIC Fiction, 2010), dances as cultural storage systems (Mountain Grass, Mountain Hare: bodily imprinting and social dances, 2012), future bodily techniques (BALLISTIC BODY, 2011), rapping as an embodied speech act (FLOW PLAY: Sensualized Speech and HipHop, 2013), and the sociological concept of erotic sociability (Unambitious Stripper, 2017-ongoing). Lewis’s work has been presented by Dia Art Foundation, Tate Modern, Kunsthalle Basel, Liverpool Biennial, Serpentine Galleries, Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, Tanz Im August, Kampnagel, Gropius Bau, Göteborg International Biennial for Contemporary Art, Palais de Tokyo, Ming Contemporary Art Museum, Sharjah Biennial, Karachi Biennial Trust, and Kunsthalle Zürich among others. In 2021 she started a long-term collaboration with the TBA21-Academy with a first work combining artistic and scientific research on the topic of ocean at Ocean Space in Venice entitled O.C.E.A.N.I.C.A. (Occasions Creating Ecologically Attuned Narratives in Collective Action). In the same year she served as co-curator of the year-long program Existing Otherwise at Galerie Wedding in Berlin.

22.04.2018

© 
         Mathilde Agius
© Mathilde Agius

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 21.02.2024, 23:15 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/artist/id1136/

Isabel Lewis (DE/US)

AKTUELL

BIOGRAFIE

Isabel Lewis (geboren 1981 in Santo Domingo) ist eine dominikanisch-amerikanische Künstlerin, die auf einer künstlichen Insel im Südwesten Floridas aufwuchs. Bevor sie 2009 nach Berlin umzog, lebte sie in New York City, wo sie für viele Choreograf*innen tanzte und ihre eigenen Auftragsarbeiten für die Bühne des Dance Theater Workshop, PS122 und The Kitchen zeigte. Außerdem nahm sie an mehreren von Künstler*innen betriebenen Initiativen in New York teil, darunter AUNTS, ClassClassClass, Bruce High Quality Foundation und Movement Research at Judson Church.

Lewis ist in den Bereichen Theater, Musik und Tanz aktiv und wurde besonders dafür bekannt, dass sie das Format von „occasion“ (Anlass) in den Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst eingeführt hat, indem sie An Occasion hosted by Isabel Lewis auf der Biennale der bewegten Bilder im Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève und auf der Frieze Art Fair in London im Jahr 2014 präsentierte. Durch beharrliches Experimentieren und verkörperte Recherchemethoden kreiert Lewis Formate für alternative Formen der Sozialität zwischen menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Akteur*innen. Für Lewis bietet jedes Format Möglichkeiten, das Sinnliche zu ordnen, und so ist die Frage, wie man sich mit Formaten auseinandersetzt, eine zutiefst politische Frage. In der Werkgeschichte der Künstlerin finden sich „Ereignisse“, „Arrangements“, „Aktivierungen“, „Erweiterte Betrachtungen“, „sensorische Parkours“ sowie Workshops, Zuhör-Sessions und Lecture Performances. Ausgebildet in Literaturkritik und Philosophie und künstlerischem Background im Tanz, wendet Lewis einen erweiterten Sinn für das Choreografische an, der seinen Schwerpunkt auf die Erzeugung affektiver Körpererfahrungen legt, die alle Sinne in ihrer inhärent kollaborativen Praxis ansprechen, an der unter anderem Architekt*innen wie Juan Chacón von Zuloark, Wissenschaftler*innen wie Sissel Tolaas und Theoretiker*innen wie die Klassizistin Brooke Holmes beteiligt sind.

Lewis schuf Arbeiten zu Themen wie Open-Source-Technologie und Tanzimprovisation (Communal EPIC Fiction, 2010), Tänze als kulturelle Speichersysteme (Mountain Grass, Mountain Hare: bodily imprinting and social dances, 2012), zukünftige Körpertechniken (BALLISTIC BODY, 2011), Rap als verkörperter Sprechakt (FLOW PLAY: Sensualized Speech and HipHop, 2013) und das soziologische Konzept der erotischen Soziabilität (Unambitious Stripper, 2017-bis heute). Lewis' Arbeiten wurden unter anderem von der Dia Art Foundation, der Tate Modern, der Kunsthalle Basel, der Liverpool Biennale, den Serpentine Galleries, der Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, Tanz Im August, Kampnagel, dem Gropius Bau, der Göteborg International Biennial for Contemporary Art, dem Palais de Tokyo, dem Ming Contemporary Art Museum, der Sharjah Biennial, dem Karachi Biennial Trust und der Kunsthalle Zürich präsentiert. Im Jahr 2021 begann sie eine langfristige Zusammenarbeit mit der TBA21-Academy mit einer ersten Arbeit, die künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Forschung zum Thema Ozean im Ocean Space in Venedig unter dem Titel O.C.E.A.N.I.C.A. (Occasions Creating Ecologically Attuned Narratives in Collective Action) verbindet. Im selben Jahr war sie Ko-Kuratorin des einjährigen Programms Existing Otherwise in der Galerie Wedding in Berlin.

22.04.2018

Arturo Martinez Steele
Arturo Martinez Steele

ARCHIV

Workshops
2011
Ballistic Body, Communal EPIC Fiction
© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 02.07.2022, 23:24 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/artist/id1136/