Alice Chauchat (DE/FR)

CURRENTLY

BIOGRAPHY

Alice Chauchat is a choreographer, dancer, assistant, teacher, mentor, etc. based in Berlin since 2001. Collaboration (and hence negotiating distance, alterity, de-centering etc.) has been a recurrent reality and growing concern of her work. Besides strictly collaborative set-ups, Alice co-developed numerous choreographic projects and platforms for knowledge production and exchange in the performing arts such as the open source internet platform everybodystoolbox.net, the artist-run, self-organised institution pa-f.net, or the collective Praticable.

After studying in Lyon’s C.N.S.M and at P.A.R.T.S., Brussels, she co-founded the collective B.D.C. together with Thomas Plischke, Martin Nachbar and Hendrik Laevens. They created and toured Events for television (again), Affects and (Re) sort between 1999 and 2001. In 2001 Alice presented the solo Quotation marks me and continued collaborating with a.o. Anne Juren for J’aime, Alix Eynaudi for Crystalll and Frédéric Gies for The Breast Piece (praticable). Other activities include artistic assistance, participating in projects by other people (e.g. Alix Eynaudi, Jennifer Lacey, Mårten Spångberg, Juan Dominguez, Xavier Le Roy), writing, teaching and mentoring.
2010-2012 she co-directed Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, a centre for artistic research in the outskirts of Paris. Since 2013, together with Jennifer Lacey she hosts the program Teachback, for research in dance and pedagogy in ImPulsTanz Vienna. Alice has been teaching for a number of educational programs in Europe, both institutional and self-organised. Her interest in developing a generous and articulate dance scene in Europe also brought her to edit a variety of publications, a.o. Everybodys Self-Interviews, Everybodys Group Self-Interviews, Everybodys Performance Scores (all 3 with Mette Ingvartsen, via booksondemand), Let’s poem back (ghost publishers), Jennifer Lacey Portfolio (Movement Research New York).

10.04.2022

Dieter Hartwig
Dieter Hartwig
WEBSITE

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 11.08.2022, 09:49 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/en/artist/id787/

Alice Chauchat (DE/FR)

BIOGRAFIE

Alice Chauchat lebt und arbeitet seit 2001 als Choreografin, Tänzerin, Dozentin, Mentorin, etc. in Berlin. Kollaborationen bestimmen eine Vielzahl ihrer Arbeiten. Daneben rief sie zahlreiche choreografische Projekte und Plattformen zur Wissensproduktion und zum Austausch im Bereich der Performing Arts ins Leben, wie etwa die Open-Source-Plattform everybodystoolbox.net, die von Künstler*innen betreute und selbst-organisierte Institution pa-f.net oder das Kollektiv Praticable.

Nach ihrem Studium am C.N.S.M. in Lyon und bei P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel gründete sie gemeinsam mit Thomas Plischke, Martin Nachbar und Hendrik Laevens das Kollektiv B.D.C.. Zwischen 1999 und 2001 tourten sie mit den Produktionen Events for television (again), Affects und (Re) sort. 2001 präsentierte Alice Chauchat ihr Solo Quotation marks me und kollaborierte mit u.a. Anne Juren für J’aime, Alix Eynaudi für Crystalll und Frédéric Gies für The Breast Piece (practicable). Zudem wirkte sie in Stücken anderer Choreograf*innen mit (z.B. Alix Eynaudi, Jennifer Lacey, Mårten Spångberg, Juan Dominguez, Xavier Le Roy), schreibt, unterrichtet und ist als Mentorin tätig.
2010–2012 war sie Ko-Leiterin des Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, ein Zentrum für Artistic Research in den Vororten von Paris. Seit 2013 ist sie gemeinsam mit Jennifer Lacey Host des Programms Teachback für Research im Bereich Tanz und Pädagogik bei ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival. Alice Chauchat unterrichtete im Rahmen von Ausbildungsprogrammen in ganz Europa, sowohl in Institution als auch selbst-organisiert. Ihrem Interesse, eine liberale und wortgewandte Tanzszene in Europa zu entwickeln, folgten unterschiedlichste Publikationen, u.a. Everybodys Self-Interviews, Everybodys Group Self-Interviews, Everybodys Performance Scores (alle 3 mit Mette Ingvartsen, via booksondemand), Let’s poem back (ghost publishers), Jennifer Lacey Portfolio (Movement Research New York).

10.04.2022

Dieter Hartwig
Dieter Hartwig
WEBSITE

ARCHIV

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 29.09.2022, 15:28 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/artist/id787/