Aimilios Arapoglou (BE/GR)

CURRENTLY

BIOGRAPHY

Aimilios Arapoglou is a Greek dancer and dance maker who has been creating and performing professionally in Greece and internationally since 2011. He is a graduate of both the International and European Relations program at the University of Piraeus and the Greek National State School of Dance. Now based in Brussels, Aimilios works with many talented artists, including Linda Kapetanea and Josef Frucek (Rootlessroot Dance Company), in collaboration with the musician John Parish and his band, David Zambrano, Damien Jalet, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Scottish Dance Theatre, Mor Shani, Jukstapoz Dance Company and fashion designers Hussein Chalayan, Riccardo Tisci and Iris van Herpen.

In October 2014 he was invited to perform at La Monnaie (Brussels) in Shell Shock, an opera choreographed by Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, written by Nick Cave and composed by Nicholas Lens, which was re-staged at Philharmonie de Paris in November 2018. In April 2016 he joined Eastman to start rehearsing for Babel 7.16 at Festival d’Avignon, a piece that was performed at the Cour d'Honneur de Palais des Papes in July 2016 under the direction of Damien Jalet and Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Notably, Aimilios was invited to take part in the project Boléro, at the Paris Opera Garnier, as an assistant choreographer to Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet and the performance artist Marina Abramović. This artistic trio asked for his help again in 2018, when he was a choreographic advisor for the newly adapted rendition of Debussy's Pelléas et Mélisande. He was also invited to collaborate on the original movement research for Vessel, that was created at the art residency Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto, a collaboration between visual artist Nawa Kohei and Damien Jalet. Recently he contributed to the creation of Skid with Göteborgs Operans Danskompani, a piece by Damien Jalet and visual artist Jim Hodges.

In addition to freelance touring throughout Europe, the United States and Japan, Aimilios was invited by Ceprodac Dance Company for an artistic residency in Mexico in August 2018. There, as a guest artist and choreographic assistant to Damien Jalet, he collaborated on Omphalos, a new work which premiered in Mexico City October 2018. Arapoglou has also collaborated on films with Damien Jalet, such as ferryman starring Gilles Delmas and Suspiria by Luca Guadagnino starring Tilda Swinton, Dakota Johnson, Mia Goth, Ingrid Caven with the soundtrack that was composed originally by Thom Yorke. In 2019 together with Damien Jalet he developed movement material and he also danced it in Anima, a 15-minute film directed by Paul Thomas Anderson with Radiohead singer Thom Yorke. Anima and Damien Jalet received the UKMVA award for the best choreography. The same year he was invited as a choreographic assistant and advisor of Damien Jalet to be part of the direction and the choreography of several sequences on the first theatrical tour of Madonna, Madame X, which premiered at the Brooklyn Academy of Music in New York City. In March 2020 he was invited to collaborate with Koki Nakano a Paris-based musician who frequently explores the relationship between music and movement in his work. The project is called Train-Train and it’s a music video presented on NOWNESS directed by Benjamin Seroussi and choreographed by Damien Jalet. Recently he was invited as an associate choreographer to create together with Damien Jalet, the visual artist JR and the Japanese pianist Koki Nakano, a new dance creation at the Paris Opera Garnier. The piece is called brise-lames and it was created for nine dancers.

31.07.2021

Koen Broos
Koen Broos

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 11.08.2022, 09:48 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/en/artist/id1726/

Aimilios Arapoglou (BE/GR)

BIOGRAFIE

Aimilios Arapoglou ist ein griechischer Tänzer und Tanzschaffender, der seit 2011 in Griechenland und international professionell tanzt und performt. Er ist Absolvent des Studiengangs für internationale und europäische Beziehungen an der Universität Piräus und der Griechischen Staatlichen Tanzschule. Der in Brüssel lebende Aimilios hat mit vielen talentierten Künstler*innen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Linda Kapetanea und Josef Frucek (Rootlessroot Dance Company), in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Musiker John Parish und seiner Band, David Zambrano, Damien Jalet, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Scottish Dance Theatre, Mor Shani, Jukstapoz Dance Company und den Modedesignern Hussein Chalayan, Riccardo Tisci und Iris van Herpen.

Im Oktober 2014 wurde er eingeladen, in La Monnaie (Brüssel) in Shell Shock zu performen, einer Oper, die von Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui choreografiert, von Nick Cave geschrieben und von Nicholas Lens komponiert wurde und die im November 2018 in der Philharmonie de Paris wiederaufgeführt wurde. Im April 2016 kam er zu Eastman, um mit den Proben für Babel 7.16 beim Festival d'Avignon zu beginnen, ein Stück, das im Juli 2016 unter der Leitung von Damien Jalet und Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui im Cour d'Honneur de Palais des Papes gezeigt wurde. Aimilios wurde eingeladen, an dem Projekt Boléro an der Pariser Opéra Garnier als Assistenzchoreograf von Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet und der Performance-Künstlerin Marina Abramović mitzuarbeiten. Dieses künstlerische Trio bat ihn 2018 erneut um seine Hilfe, als er als choreografischer Berater für die neu adaptierte Version von Debussys Pelléas et Mélisande fungierte. Außerdem wurde er eingeladen, an der ursprünglichen Bewegungsrecherche für Vessel mitzuwirken, welches in der Kunstresidenz Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto in Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem bildenden Künstler Nawa Kohei und Damien Jalet entstand. Kürzlich war er an der Kreation von Skid mit der Göteborgs Operans Danskompani beteiligt, einem Stück von Damien Jalet und dem bildenden Künstler Jim Hodges.

Neben freiberuflichen Tourneen durch Europa, die Vereinigten Staaten und Japan wurde Aimilios von der Ceprodac Dance Company im August 2018 zu einem künstlerischen Aufenthalt in Mexiko eingeladen. Dort arbeitete er als Gastkünstler und choreografischer Assistent von Damien Jalet an Omphalos, einem neuen Werk, das im Oktober 2018 in Mexiko-Stadt uraufgeführt wurde. Arapoglou hat auch an Filmen mit Damien Jalet zusammengearbeitet, wie z.B. Ferryman mit Gilles Delmas in der Hauptrolle und Suspiria von Luca Guadagnino mit Tilda Swinton, Dakota Johnson, Mia Goth, Ingrid Caven in den Hauptrollen, dessen Soundtrack ursprünglich von Radiohead-Sänger Thom Yorke komponiert wurde. 2019 entwickelte er zusammen mit Damien Jalet Bewegungsmaterial für und tanzte in Anima, einem 15-minütigen Film von Paul Thomas Anderson mit Thom Yorke. Anima und Damien Jalet erhielt für den UKMVA-Preis für die beste Choreografie. Im selben Jahr wurde er als choreografischer Assistent und Berater von Damien Jalet eingeladen, an der Regie und Choreografie mehrerer Sequenzen der ersten Theatertournee von Madonna, Madame X, mitzuwirken, die in der Brooklyn Academy of Music in New York City Premiere hatte. Im März 2020 wurde er eingeladen, mit Koki Nakano zusammenzuarbeiten, einem in Paris lebenden Musiker, der in seiner Arbeit häufig die Beziehung zwischen Musik und Bewegung erforscht. Das Projekt heißt Train-Train und ist ein Musikvideo, das auf NOWNESS unter der Regie von Benjamin Seroussi und mit der Choreografie von Damien Jalet präsentiert wurde. Kürzlich wurde er als assoziierter Choreograf eingeladen, zusammen mit Damien Jalet, dem bildenden Künstler JR und dem japanischen Pianisten Koki Nakano eine neue Tanzkreation an der Pariser Opéra Garnier zu schaffen. Das Stück heißt brise-lames und wurde für neun Tänzer*innen gemacht.

31.07.2021

Koen Broos
Koen Broos

ARCHIV

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 30.11.2022, 06:07 | Link: https://impulstanz.com/artist/id1726/